Student Spotlight

Chauncey R. Syposs IV, OMS III

Class of 2019

  • Hometown: Buffalo, NY
  • Undergraduate Studies: Undergrad: Biology and Philosophy (Canisius College); Graduate: Human Anatomy and Cellular Biology (University of Buffalo School of Medicine)
  • Clubs and Activities: Multicultural Club, acting Treasurer and Secretary, Students for Choice

Why did you choose RVU? RVU had a great reputation for its board scores and the structure of its curriculum. Being less than an hour...
Read More

Faculty Spotlight

Rachel M.A. Linger, PhD

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

  • Hometown: Dunkirk, MD
  • Undergraduate Studies: Bachelors of Science in Biology with high honors in Zoology (University of Maryland)
  • Graduate Studies: Doctoral degree in Pharmacology (University of Colorado); Post-Doctoral Fellowship investigating novel biologic targets for new therapies in lung cancer and leukemia

What class do you teach? Pharmacology in both the COM and MSBS programs; pharmacology is taught as separate courses...
Read More

Academic Departments

RVUCOM Colorado Campus:

RVUCOM_OrgChart

 

RVUCOM Utah Campus:

RVUCOM-SU


Biomedical Sciences | Clinical Assessment and Simulation | Honors Tracks and Specialty Programs | Master of Science of Biomedical Sciences (MSBS) Program | Medical Humanities | Medical Informatics / Library | Office of the Dean | Office of the Dean - RVUCOM-SU | Osteopathic Principles and Practices | Physician Assistant Program | Primary Care Medicine | Rocky Vista Health Center | Specialty Medicine | Structural Medicine |

Biomedical Sciences  •  (720) 874-2437


Duane T. Brandau, DO, PhD

Assistant Dean of Clinical Education and Research
Department of Clinical Affairs

Professor of Molecular Medicine
Department of Biomedical Sciences

Co-Director of the Physician Scientist Honors Track
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

dbrandau@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2802 • FE-05


Qamrul Choudhury, PhD

Phase Director, Year One
Office of the Dean

Assistant Director of Global Medicine Honors Track
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

Associate Professor of Physiology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

qchoudhury@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2833 • D-102


Rachel Linger, PhD

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

rlinger@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2454 • FC-03


Michael Martin, PhD

Associate Dean for Integrated Curriculum
Office of the Dean

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

mmartin@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2821 • D-104


Nicole Michels, PhD

Chair of the Department
Department of Medical Humanities

Associate Professor of Physiology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

nmichels@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2436 • FC-08


Jennifer Montemayor, PhD

Phase Director, Year Two
Office of the Dean

Associate Professor of Physiology and Anatomy
Department of Biomedical Sciences

jmontemayor@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2433 • D-116


Rebecca Ryznar, PhD

Assistant Professor of Molecular Biology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

rryznar@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2423 • FC-09


Francina Towne, PhD

Program Director
Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences Program

Assistant Professor of Immunology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

ftowne@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2837 • FC-02


Jacquelyn Waller, PharmD, BCPS

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

Director of Faculty Development

jwaller@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2869 • FC-04


Terri McNair

Administrative Assistant
Department of Biomedical Sciences
Department of Specialty Medicine

tmcnair@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2437 • FC-01

Clinical Assessment and Simulation  •  (720) 875-2815


Tina Underwood, MAEd, CHSE

Director
Department of Clinical Assessment and Simulation

tunderwood@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2815 • PC-113


Becca Fletcher

Program Coordinator
Department of Clinical Assessment and Simulation

bfletcher@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2836 • P-115

Honors Tracks and Specialty Programs  •  (720) 875-2814


Duane T. Brandau, DO, PhD

Assistant Dean of Clinical Education and Research
Department of Clinical Affairs

Professor of Molecular Medicine
Department of Biomedical Sciences

Co-Director of the Physician Scientist Honors Track
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

dbrandau@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2802 • FE-05


Camille Z. Bentley, DO, MPH, FACOFP

Department Chair and Director of Global Medicine Honors Track and Global Rotations
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

Professor of Family Medicine
Department of Primary Care Medicine

cbentley@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2814 • FB-09


Qamrul Choudhury, PhD

Phase Director, Year One
Office of the Dean

Assistant Director of Global Medicine Honors Track
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

Associate Professor of Physiology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

qchoudhury@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2833 • D-102


Anthony J. LaPorta, MD, FACS

Course Director of Military Track
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

Professor of Clinical Surgery
Department of Specialty Medicine

alaporta@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2401 • FE-11


David Ross, DO, FACEP

Director, Rural and Wilderness Medicine Honors Track
Honors Tracks and Specialty Programs

Associate Director, Military Medicine Enrichment Track
Honors Tracks and Specialty Programs

Assistant Professor
Department of Specialty Medicine

dross@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2823 • FE-10


Deidre McGee

Military Track and Surgical Simulation Coordinator
Honors Tracks and Specialty Programs

dmcgee@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2426 • FD-02

Master of Science of Biomedical Sciences (MSBS) Program


Francina Towne, PhD

Program Director
Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences Program

Assistant Professor of Immunology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

ftowne@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2837 • FC-02

Medical Humanities • (720) 874-2436


Nicole Michels, PhD

Chair of the Department
Department of Medical Humanities

Associate Professor of Physiology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

nmichels@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2436 • FC-08


Alexis Horst, MA

Writing Center Instructor
Department of Medical Humanities

ahorst@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2811 • FC-10


Brian D. Schwartz, MLIS

Director
Department of Medical Informatics and Library Services

Associate Professor
Department of Medical Humanities

bschwartz@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2882 • L-104


Lon Van Winkle PhD

Lon Van Winkle PhD

Professor, Medical Humanities
Department of Medical Humanities

lvanwinkle@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2492 • FC-14

Medical Informatics and Library Services  •  (720) 875-2847


Brian D. Schwartz, MLIS

Director
Department of Medical Informatics and Library Services

Associate Professor
Department of Medical Humanities

bschwartz@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2882 • L-104


Jenifer Fisher, MLIS

Reference Librarian
Department of Medical Informatics and Library Services

Instructor
Department of Medical Humanities

jfisher@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2881 • L-117


Tina L. Hefty, MLIS

Assistant Director of Library Services
Department of Medical Informatics and Library Services
Assistant Professor of Medical Humanities
Department of Medical Humanities
thefty@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1264
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738

Office of the Dean  •  (720) 874-2491


Thomas N. Told, DO, FACOFP, dist.

Dean and Chief Academic Officer
Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Vice President of Academic Affairs
Rocky Vista University

ttold@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2863 • D-105


Linda Cairns

Special Assistant to the Associate Dean
Office of the Dean

lcairns@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2825 • D-101


Qamrul Choudhury, PhD

Phase Director, Year One
Office of the Dean

Assistant Director of Global Medicine Honors Track
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

Associate Professor of Physiology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

qchoudhury@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2833 • D-102


Michael Martin, PhD

Associate Dean for Integrated Curriculum
Office of the Dean

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Department of Biomedical Sciences

mmartin@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2821 • D-104


Jennifer Montemayor, PhD

Phase Director, Year Two
Office of the Dean

Associate Professor of Physiology and Anatomy
Department of Biomedical Sciences

jmontemayor@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2433 • D-116


David Park, DO, FAAFP, FACOFP

Vice Dean
Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Campus Dean
Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine – Southern Utah

dpark@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1238
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738


Michele Sobczyk

Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Office of the Dean

msobczyk@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2491 • D-101

Office of the Dean - RVUCOM-SU


David Park, DO, FAAFP, FACOFP

Vice Dean
Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Campus Dean
Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine – Southern Utah

dpark@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1238
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738


Michael Wells, PhD

Assistant Dean Integrated Curriculum
Office of the Dean – Southern Utah

Professor of Structural Medicine
Department of Structural Medicine – Southern Utah

mwells@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1253
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738

 


Sarah Nordgran

Executive Assistant to the Campus Dean
Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine – Southern Utah Campus

snordgran@rvu.edu(435) 222-1239
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738

 

Osteopathic Principles and Practices  •  (720) 874-2473


Judy Caldwell, DO

Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Department of Primary Care – Southern Utah

Assistant Professor of OMM
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices – Southern Utah

jcaldwell@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1239
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738

 


Heather Ferrill, DO, MS, MEdL

Chair and Professor of OPP
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices

hferrill@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2432 • FA-05


Andrew Ambler, DO, FACOI

Assistant Professor
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices

aambler@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2435 • FA-11


Dana Anglund, DO

Assistant Professor
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices

danglund@rvu.edu • FA-03


Sarah Curtis Lopez, DO

Assistant Professor of OMM
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices

scurtis@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2451 • FA-02


Teodor Huzij, DO, FACN

Assistant Professor
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices

thuzij@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2473 • FA-13


Kenneth Ramey, DO, FACOFP

Associate Professor of OPP
Department of Structural Medicine

Program Director of the Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine/Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine + 1 Residency
Department of Graduate Medical Education and RMOPTI

Physician of Sports Medicine and OMM
Rocky Vista Health Center

kramey@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2421 • FA-06


Teresa Moore

OMM/OPP Instructional Medicine Coordinator
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices

Administrative Assistant
Department of Structural Medicine

tmoore@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2473 • FA-01

Physician Assistant Program • (720) 874-2409


Debra Nickell, PhD, MBA, PA-C

Program Director
Physician Assistant Program

dnickell@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2447 • FD-08


Tim Johnson

Tim Johnson, MS, PA-C

Clinical Education Director; Assistant Professor
Physician Assistant Program

tjohnson@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2478 • FD-06


Cathy Ruff, MS, PA-C

Associate Program Director and Director of Didactic Education
Physician Assistant Program

cruff@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2842 • FD-07

 


Darcy Solanyk

Darcy Solanyk, MS, PA-C

Associate Professor
Physician Assistant Program

dsolanyk@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2829 • FD-09


Teri Coe

Administrative Assistant
Physician Assistant Program

tcoe@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2409 • FD-01

Primary Care Medicine  •  (720) 875-2828


Joseph Stasio, DO, FACOFP

Chair of the Department and Professor
Department of Primary Care Medicine

jstasio@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2816 • FB-06


Camille Z. Bentley, DO, MPH, FACOFP

Department Chair and Director of Global Medicine Honors Track and Global Rotations
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

Professor of Family Medicine
Department of Primary Care Medicine

cbentley@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2814 • FB-09


Judy Caldwell, DO

Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Department of Primary Care – Southern Utah

Assistant Professor of OMM
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices – Southern Utah

jcaldwell@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1239
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738

 


David R. Crimin, DO, CMD

Assistant Professor of Primary Care
Department of Primary Care Medicine

dcrimin@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1254
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738


Jill Pitcher, DO

Associate Professor of Family Medicine
Department of Primary Care Medicine

jpitcher@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2834 • FB-07


Ann Trawick, DO

Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
Department of Primary Care Medicine

atrawick@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2429 • FB-02


Molly Hunsberger

Molly Hunsberger

Administrative Assistant
Department of Primary Care Medicine

mhunsberger@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2828 • FB-100

Rocky Vista Health Center  •  (720) 875-2880


Roy Merrill, FAAMA

Practice Administrator
Rocky Vista Health Center

rmerrill@rockyvistahc.com • (720) 874-2458 • H-105


Dennis Kinder, MD

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

Staff Physician
Rocky Vista Health Center

dkinder@rockyvistahc.com • (720) 874-2462

 


Kenneth Ramey, DO, FACOFP

Associate Professor of OPP
Department of Structural Medicine

Program Director of the Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine/Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine + 1 Residency
Department of Graduate Medical Education and RMOPTI

Physician of Sports Medicine and OMM
Rocky Vista Health Center

kramey@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2421 • FA-06


Christopher Unrein, DO, FACOI, FACP, CMD

Chief Academic Officer for RMOPTI
Graduate Medical Education and RMOPTI

Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

Medical Director
Rocky Vista Health Center

cunrein@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2410 • FB-08


William Warkentin, MD, FACP

Staff Physician
Rocky Vista Health Center

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

wwarkentin@rockyvistahc.com • (720) 874-2449

Specialty Medicine  •  (720) 874-2437


Michael Tieman, MD, FACS

Department Chair
Professor of Specialty Medicine

Department of Specialty Medicine

mtieman@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2414 • FC-11


Ronald Blonder, DO, FACC, FACOI

Professor of Specialty Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

rblonder@rvu.edu


John (Jack) Brozna, MD, PhD

Associate Professor of Pathology
Department of Specialty Medicine

jbrozna@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2479 • FB-04


Roberto Gianani, MD

Assistant Professor of Pathology
Department of Specialty Medicine

rgianani@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2408 • FB-05


Fernando Gomez, MD

Professor of Pathology
Department of Specialty Medicine

fgomez@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2464 • FB-03


Dwight Hertz, MD

Professor of Pathology
Department of Specialty Medicine

dhertz@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2835 • FC-06


Greg Hicks, MD

Director of Internal Medicine Residency Program at Sky Ridge Medical Center
Graduate Medical Education and RMOPTI

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

ghicks@rvu.edu


Dennis Kinder, MD

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

Staff Physician
Rocky Vista Health Center

dkinder@rockyvistahc.com • (720) 874-2462

 


David Mohlman, DO, FACOI

Director of Medical Education, Internal Medicine Residency Program at Sky Ridge Medical Center
Graduate Medical Education and RMOPTI

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

dmohlman@rvu.edu • (720) 476-3355
10099 RidgeGate Parkway, Conifer Building, Suite 120 • Lone Tree, CO 80124


Anthony J. LaPorta, MD, FACS

Course Director of Military Track
Special Honors Tracks and Programs

Professor of Clinical Surgery
Department of Specialty Medicine

alaporta@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2401 • FE-11


David Ross, DO, FACEP

Director, Rural and Wilderness Medicine Honors Track
Honors Tracks and Specialty Programs

Associate Director, Military Medicine Enrichment Track
Honors Tracks and Specialty Programs

Assistant Professor
Department of Specialty Medicine

dross@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2823 • FE-10


Christopher Unrein, DO, FACOI, FACP, CMD

Chief Academic Officer for RMOPTI
Graduate Medical Education and RMOPTI

Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

Medical Director
Rocky Vista Health Center

cunrein@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2410 • FB-08


William Warkentin, MD, FACP

Staff Physician
Rocky Vista Health Center

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Department of Specialty Medicine

wwarkentin@rockyvistahc.com • (720) 874-2449


Terri McNair

Administrative Assistant
Department of Biomedical Sciences
Department of Specialty Medicine

tmcnair@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2437 • FC-01

Structural Medicine  •  (720) 874-2473


Walter Buck, PhD

Chair of Department, Director of Gross Anatomy, and Director of Musculoskeletal System
Department of Structural Medicine

wbuck@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2812 • FA-08


Ian George, PhD

Ian George, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Structural Medicine

igeorge@rvu.edu • (720) 875-2864 • FA-10

 


Mike Jorgensen, PhD

Director of Anatomy Fellowship
Assistant Professor of Anatomy

Department of Structural Medicine

mjorgensen@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2453 • FA-07

 


Michael Wells, PhD

Assistant Dean Integrated Curriculum
Office of the Dean – Southern Utah

Professor of Structural Medicine
Department of Structural Medicine – Southern Utah

mwells@rvu.edu • (435) 222-1253
272 East Center Street, Suite 201 • Ivins, UT 84738

 


Teresa Moore

OMM/OPP Instructional Medicine Coordinator
Department of Osteopathic Principles and Practices

Administrative Assistant
Department of Structural Medicine

tmoore@rvu.edu • (720) 874-2473 • FA-01