RVU-SU Welcomes Three New Members to its Executive Advisory Council

June 1, 2020

RVU-SU Welcomes Three New Members to its Executive Advisory Council

[June 1, 2020] Rocky Vista University (RVU) is pleased to announce the appointments of Steven Bennion, PhD, MPA, Cynthia Furse, PhD, and Terri Kane, BSN, RN, to its Executive Advisory Council (EAC) for its Southern Utah location. Members of the Council include Utahans and those with strong ties to Utah, who are accomplished leaders in their respective fields and communities.

RVU-SU Executive Advisory Council was established in 2017 shortly after the campus opened to provide guidance in the success and growth of RVU’s new medical campus in Ivins, Utah. In August of this year, RVU-SU will expand its program offerings with the addition of the Master of Science in Biomedical Sciences (MSBS) program.

Steven Don Bennion, PhD, MPA, is a native Utahan who has spent most of his career in the state’s higher education institutions. He has served as President of Snow College (1982 - 1989), Ricks College (1989 - 1997), and Southern Utah University (1997 - 2006). While at Ricks College in 1989, Dr. Bennion expanded computer access for students and developed a “fast track” program to allow more students to attend.

Cynthia M. Furse, PhD is a Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Utah and past Associate Vice President for Research. She is also a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the National Academy of Inventors. Her technological innovations and patents include the development of a system to locate intermittent electrical faults on aging aircraft wiring, with which she founded the successful spin-off company LiveWire Innovation. As an educator, Dr. Furse is a leader in the flipped classroom teaching method and has received numerous teaching and research awards, including the 2009 IEEE Harriett B. Rigas Medal for Excellence in Teaching and the 2020 IEEE Chen To Tai Distinguished Educator Award

Terri Kane, BSN, RN, is the former Associate Chief Operating Office for Clinical Programs of Intermountain Healthcare, which she retired form in 2017. Before that, she was the CEO of Dixie Regional Medical Center (DRMC) from 2006 - 2017. Under her leadership, DRMC expanded its services to become a Level II Trauma Center and a specialized heart and cancer care facilities. She was responsible for the addition of Intermountain Flight services and the recent $300 million expansion of the hospital. In 2003, she was named Intermountain Healthcare Manager of Distinction. Today, she remains on the DRMC’s governing board.

Other members of the EAC include: Stan Albrecht, PhD, retired as President of Utah State University; Timothy B. Anderson, JD, Managing Attorney for Kirton | McConkie; R. Lane Beattie, recently retired as President and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce; Mindy Benson, Vice President for Alumni and Community Relations at Southern Utah University; B. Grant Bishop, MD, Professor Emeritus at the University of Utah School of Medicine; Chairman Eric Leavitt, President of Leavitt Group Enterprises, Inc.; Donna Millavetz, MD, CEO of OnSite Care Clinics; Derek B. Miller, President and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber and Downtown Alliance; Warren A. Peterson, DO, dermatologist and osteopathic educator; Richard G. Whitehead, DDS, former Administrator at Dixie State College; and Michael K. Young, JD, President of Texas A&M University.

“We are truly fortunate to have these three incredible Utahans join our EAC,” said David J. Park, DO, FAAFP, FACOFP, Vice President of the Southern Utah campus. “[They] bring decades of leadership experience in the areas of higher education, healthcare, research, and, most importantly, innovation. I believe RVU has a very bright future in Utah with the guidance and support of all of the exceptional people who make up our EAC.”



Rocky Vista University to Open New Medical School in Utah

RVU to Open New Medical School in Utah [January 19, 2016- Parker, CO] – Colorado-based Rocky Vista University (RVU) will soon become Utah’s second medical school, admitting its first class […]

Read More